Leadership Series Speakers



Leonard PinchukOCTOBER 1, 2018
Leonard Pinchuk, Ph.D.
Distinguished Research Professor,
Department of Biomedical Engineering,
University of Miami,
President/CEO at Innovia LLC

Thomas C. SkalakOCTOBER 29, 2018
Thomas C. Skalak, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research Emeritus,
University of Virginia

Marjolein C.H. van der MeulenDECEMBER 3, 2018
Marjolein C.H. van der Meulen, Ph.D.
James M. and Marsha McCormick Director and Swanson Professor,
Nancy E. and Peter C. Meinig School of Biomedical Engineering, Cornell University


Buddy RatnerFEBRUARY 25, 2019
Joseph M. DeSimone, Ph.D.
Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill,
William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor,
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering,
North Carolina State University

Susan S. MarguliesAPRIL 22, 2019
Susan S. Margulies, Ph.D.
Wallace H. Coulter Chair,
Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Injury Biomechanics, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering, Georgia Tech College of Engineering,
Emory University School of Medicine



Nancy AllbrittonSEPTEMBER 18, 2017
Dr. Nancy L. Allbritton
Kenan Distinguished Professor, Chair of UNC/NC State Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering,
Jointly Appointed with School of Medicine & School of Pharmacy,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Warren GrillOCTOBER 2, 2017
Dr. Warren M. Grill
Edmund T. Pratt, Jr. School Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Duke University

Lonnie SheaDECEMBER 11, 2017
Dr. Lonnie Shea
Professor and William and Valerie Hall Chair,
Department of Biomedical Engineering; Professor,
Department of Chemical Engineering,
University of Michigan


Buddy RatnerJANUARY 29, 2018
Dr. Buddy D. Ratner

Director, University of Washington Engineered Biomaterials (UWEB21)
Michael L. and Myrna Darland Endowed Chair in Technology Commercialization
Professor of Bioengineering and Chemical Engineering, University of Washington

Rebecca BergmanFEBRUARY 26, 2018
Dr. Rebecca M. Bergman

Gustavus Adolphus College,
Saint Peter, Minnesota

Martha GrayMARCH 12, 2018
Dr. Martha L. Gray
J. W. Kieckhefer Professor of Health Sciences and Technology,
Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Lori SettonSEPTEMBER 12, 2016
Lori Setton, Ph.D.
Lucy and Stanley Lopata Distinguished Professor of ­Biomedical ­Engineering,
School of Engineering & Applied Science,
Washington University in St. Louis

David KaplanSEPTEMBER 26, 2016
David Kaplan, Ph.D.
Stern Family Professor of Engineering,
Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering,
Tufts University

Rashid BashirNOVEMBER 7, 2016
Rashidi Bashir, Ph.D.
Abel Bliss Professor of Engineering,
Bioengineering Department Head,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Robert F. KirschJANUARY 23, 2017
Robert F. Kirsch, Ph.D.

Allen H. and Constance T. Ford Professor and Chair of Biomedical Engineering,
Case Western Reserve University

Nicholas A. PeppasFEBRUARY 27, 2017
Nicholas A. Peppas, Sc.D.

Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering, Professor of McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
University of Texas at Austin

Tejal DesaiMARCH 27, 2017
Tejal Desai, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Bioengineering
and Therapeutic Sciences, Schools of Pharmacy and Medicine,
University of California, San Francisco


Kristi S. AnsethSEPTEMBER 14, 2015
Kristi S. Anseth, Ph.D.
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator,
Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering,
University of Colorado Boulder

Jennifer WestSEPTEMBER 21, 2015
Jennifer West, Ph.D.
Fitzpatrick Family University,
Professor of Engineering,
Duke University

Matthew O'DonnellJANUARY 11, 2016
Matthew O’Donnell, M.D., Ph.D.
Frank and Julie Jungers Dean Emeritus,
College of Engineering,
Professor, Department of Bioengineering,
University of Washington


Dominque DurandFEBRUARY 15, 2016
Dominique Durand, Ph.D.
EL Lindseth Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Director, Neural Engineering Center,
Case Western Reserve University

Scott BruderMARCH 14, 2016
Scott P. Bruder, M.D., Ph.D.
Principal, Bruder Consulting International, LLC,
Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering,
Case Western Reserve Univesity


2014 - 2015

Michael L. ShulerOCTOBER 6, 2014
Michael L. Shuler, Ph.D.
Samuel Eckert Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Chemical Engineering,
Cornell University

Maryellen L. GigerNOVEMBER 10, 2014
Maryellen L. Giger, Ph.D.
A.N. Pritzker Professor of Radiology,
College Vice-Chair of Basic Science Research,
University of Chicago

W. Mark Saltzman, Ph.D.NOVEMBER 17, 2014
W. Mark Saltzman, Ph.D.
Goizueta Foundation Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering,
Chair, Biomedical Engineering,
Yale University


Cato T. LaurencinJANUARY 12, 2015
Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.
Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery,
Professor of Chemical, Materials and Biomedical Engineering,
University of Connecticut

Andrés J. GarcíaFEBRUARY 23, 2015
Andrés J. García, Ph.D.
Rae S. and Frank H. Neely Chair,
Regents’ Professor of Mechanical Engineering,
Georgia Institute of Technology

Metin AkayMARCH 30, 2015
Metin Akay, Ph.D.
Founding Chair and John S. Dunn Endowed Chair,
Professor, Biomedical Engineering,
University of Houston

2013 - 2014

Martine LaBergeOCTOBER 14, 2013
Martine LaBerge, Ph.D.
Professor & Chair, Dept. of Bioengineering; Interim Dean, College of Engineering and Science
Clemson University

Kyriacos AthanasiouNOVEMBER 4, 2013
Kyriacos Athanasiou, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of California, Davis

Arthur CouryJANUARY 13, 2014
Arthur Coury, Ph.D.
Independent Medical Services Professional,
Principal, Coury Consulting Services


Gilda BarabinoMARCH 10, 2014
Gilda Barabino, Ph.D.
Dean, Grove School of Engineering
The City College of New York

Shankar SubramaniamAPRIL 7, 2014
Shankar Subramaniam, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Bioengineering
University of California, San Diego


2012 - 2013

Robert NeremMARCH 11, 2013
Robert Nerem, Ph.D.
Parker H. Petit Distinguished Chair for Engineering in Medicine; Institute Professor & Founding Director of the Parker H. Petit Institute for Bioengineering and Bioscience (IBB), Georgia Institute of Technology


Gordana Vunjak-NovakovicMAY 6, 2013
Gordana Vunjak-Novakovic, Ph.D.
Mikati Foundation Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Medical Sciences
Department of Biomedical Engineering, Columbia University