10th Annual Pruitt Research Day

Thank you to everyone who participated in our 10th Annual Pruitt Research Day! This successful virtual event included student talks, keynote speaker and poster presentations in celebration of the wonderful research being conducted in the department and the BME community.

We hold our celebration near the birth date of Dr. J. Crayton Pruitt Sr. whose vision and generosity helped found the department. Dr. Pruitt was always most excited to hear about and discuss the achievements and research being conducted by our students.

The Keynote speaker was William L. Murphy, Ph.D. His talk was titled, Biominerals for Therapeutic mRNA Delivery.  Dr. Murphy is the Harvey D. Spangler Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Orthopedics & Rehabilitation, and Director of the Forward BIO Institute at the University of Wisconsin. His research group has invented and developed multiple new classes of biomimetic materials inspired by the materials found in nature. They have used new biomaterials to manufacture medical devices, human cells, and human tissues. These products are now being applied to medical applications. He has published more than 190 scientific manuscripts, 10 book chapters, and 2 books, filed over 60 patents, and co-founded four companies

We had six student talks and 25 poster presentations this year. Faculty members judged the posters and selected finalists. Thank you to all the students who worked hard preparing for your presentations. Thank you to, Dr. Daniel Ferris, for his assistance as session chair and a special thanks to our faculty judges! Drs. Lakiesha Williams, Eric Fuller, Peter McFetridge, Benjamin Keselowsky, Ana Maria Porras, May Mansy, Edward Phelps  and Gregory Hudalla.

Congratulations to Robert Accolla, Pruitt Research Day Best Graduate Oral Presentation Awardee

Congratulations to Taylor Lansberry & Brandon Parks, Pruitt Research Day Best Graduate Poster Presentation Awardees