BME student, Evelyn Bracho-Sanchez, awarded Thomas O. Hunter Leadership Scholarship

Congratulations to BME graduate student, Evelyn Bracho-Sanchez, who was recently announced as a winner of the Thomas O. Hunter Leadership Scholarship by the Engineering Leadership Institute

This scholarship provides four $1,500 scholarships to full-time students with distinguished leadership credentials. Selected students must have demonstrated dedication and commitment to the community around them (i.e. peer advisor, campus tour leader, volunteer, etc.) and to leadership (i.e. years of service, increasing levels of responsibility, state/regional/national exposure).

Evelyn is a third year PhD student in BME currently under the mentorship of Dr. Keselowsky developing controlled release systems for immunotherapies. Evelyn has taken on numerous leadership roles with increasing levels of responsibility. She began as the Historian of the UF Chapter of the Society for Biomaterials in 2011, then became the Vice-President in 2012 and President in 2013. She is now the National Student Chapter President-elect with the commitment to serve as President for the 2015-2016 fiscal year. Evelyn has organized numerous events such as Biomaterials Day (one day symposium with highly honored invited speakers including a National Academy of Engineering member), industry tours and recruiting events for other students in the biomaterials field. She has garnered praise for these efforts by receiving the 2013-2014 Benton Engineering Council Best Professional Event Award. Evelyn’s efforts are not only exhibited through the Society for Biomaterials. She has also served as the Board of Education Summer Fellowship Program Graduate Student Peer Mentor, guiding other underrepresented minority students through their journey as graduate students, demonstrating true commitment to her community. Lastly, Evelyn is currently serving as the Vice-President of the BME Graduate Student Council and BME graduate representative in the College of Engineering Student Leadership Advisory Board.

Evelyn was presented with her award last week at the College of Engineering’s Leadership and Diversity Summit. Congratulations, Evelyn!