BME student, Shannon Brown, chosen as a Linda Hudson Scholarship Awardee

Congratulations to BME graduate student, Shannon Brown, who was chosen as a Linda Hudson Scholarship Awardee at the Engineering Leadership Summit hosted in conjunction with the women of the Committee of 200. 

The Committee of 200 (C200) is an organization formed by the world’s most successful women entrepreneurs and corporate innovator. This year, C200 joined the Engineering Leadership Institute at the University of Florida to being world-renowned thought leaders to the UF campus for a unique and inspiring one-day event. 

There are over 40 trailblazing women faculty at the college, and countless alumni serving as role models for the next generation of women – including C200 member and UF Distinguished Alumna Linda Hudson, a keynote speaker at this year’s summit. C200 gave out three $10,000 scholarships to graduate student leaders nominated by the department chairs and representing each of the college’s main programs. The 11 women were interviewed the day before the summit. 

Linda Hudson announced that all the women she helped interview were so remarkable that she had decided to personally award the runners-up with $5,000 each. Shannon is a second year Ph.D. student under the mentorship of Dr. Blanka Sharma, developing nanoparticles for drug delivery to diseased joints. Shannon has served the University through a variety of groups over the years with an increasing level of responsibility and leadership. Shannon is a member of Tau Beta Pi, the nation’s second oldest engineering honor society and has served as an officer every semester since her induction. Accruing experience through six different officer positions including vice president.

C200 Scholar Awards are provided to outstanding women MBA and graduate students who exemplify extraordinary leadership potential, entrepreneurial spirit and a commitment to supporting other women. C200 Scholar Award recipients will receive both a financial gift and access to unique learning and networking opportunities. The winners will receive a monetary award toward their education related expenses. C200 will provide Scholar Award recipients with incomparable access to its Scholar Network and interaction with members through networking and learning opportunities.

Congratulations, Shannon!