Eight BME students selected as University Scholars

The University Scholars Program introduces undergraduate students at the University of Florida to the exciting world of academic research. In the program, students work one-on-one with UF faculty on selected research projects. A competition is help each spring within participating colleges for the University Scholars awards of a $1750 stipend. The University Scholars Program serves as an exceptional capstone to the academic careers of UF students.

All undergraduate engineering students must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative UF GPA and must conduct research during the 2016-2017 academic year. Upon completion of the research projects, students must write a properly formatted research paper for publication. Upon completion of the program, students are also required to give an oral presentation on their research at the University Scholars Symposium.

This year 65 applicants in the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering applied and 39 students were selected across all departments. They are to join the 200 scholars across the university.

Congratulations to BME students:

  • Megan Bernier
  • Mohammad D.¬†El Basha
  • Phillip Dmitriev
  • Wisam Fares
  • Malek Hamed
  • Margaret Pires-Fernandes
  • Cooper Rickerson
  • Huzaifa Wasanwala