Ferris named UF Research Foundation Professor

Dr. Daniel Ferris, the Robert W. Adenbaum Professor in Engineering Innovation at the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering, is among the University of Florida’s (UF) most productive and promising researchers named to the 2024 cohort of UF Research Foundation Professors.

“This recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “UFRF Professors earn significant grants, publish in the leading journals in their field, hold university leadership positions, and contribute to the university in countless other ways.”

At the core of Ferris’s pioneering work is exploring human-machine interactions, blending mechanical and electrical engineering principles. His projects range from mobile brain imaging to developing advanced robotic lower limb exoskeletons and bionic prostheses. A singular goal unites these efforts: optimizing the design of robotic devices that seamlessly augment human walking and running capabilities.

Under Ferris’s leadership, the Human Neuromechanics Laboratory employs cutting-edge techniques in biomechanics, neuroscience, and biomedical engineering. Its research spans the spectrum of human locomotion, addressing both healthy individuals and those with disabilities.

Equipped with state-of-the-art technology, including a force-instrumented treadmill, high-density EEG, EMG, and motion capture systems, the lab delves deep into understanding the intricacies of human movement. They aim to develop transformative technologies like mechatronic brain-computer interfaces, merging human and machine capabilities to enhance mobility and quality of life.

Ferris’s extensive publication record and global recognition through invitations to prestigious conferences underscore his significant contributions to advancing human neuromechanics and engineering.

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement, and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property, and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise.