New philanthropic donations enable BME Summer 2021 undergraduate research internships

Century Tower

The J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering has received gifts from the Adenbaum Foundation, George and Irene Harper, and Todd Goede to support nationally competitive local experiential learning opportunities for students. The donations, which build on the Adenbaum Foundation’s previous gifts, will fund a new summer internship program for undergraduates.

This fund was created to serve students in our community who qualify for top internships but might not afford those typically unpaid opportunities. Internships provide the opportunity to get an inside view of the research being conducted in labs, gain skills, and make professional connections that enhance their network. Offering a paid internship will allow students to improve their resumes with marketable skills while earning the extra dollars they may need to pay their bills.

The program’s objectives include:

  • To increase summer research opportunities for BME undergraduates.
  • To provide eight weeks, paid internship opportunity, and meaningful career-related work experience.
  • To expose students to research in a BME laboratory under the guidance of a BME faculty.
  • To target rising seniors who have not benefited from similar experiences due to a lack of opportunities.

Staying at the forefront of discovery and providing students financial support requires significant resources. That’s where UF BME development comes in. Our development officer, Ryan Litzinger, is devoted to raising funds to advance the department’s mission. Please contact Ryan if you would like to give to this rewarding program.

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Aidan Fernandez (Adenbaum); Lab: Dr. Cherie Stabler
  • John (Jack) Teehan (Adenbaum); Lab: Dr. Ivana Parker
  • Cierra Gibson (Adenbaum); Lab: Dr. Lakiesha Williams
  • Vanessa Cruz (Adenbaum); Lab: Dr. Daniel Ferris
  • Grace Cabrera (Goede); Lab: Dr. Aysegul Gunduz
  • Andrew Sforza (Harper); Lab: Dr. Wesley Bolch
  • Matthew Rexroad (Harper); Lab: Dr. Blanka Sharma