Three BME students earn top awards at FLAAPM meeting

Twelve students from five different medical physics programs in Florida presented at the Florida Chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (FLAAPM) Annual Conference this spring. Congratulations to the UF BME students who took first, second and third place!

Brendan Barraclough (pictured center) was awarded the coveted 2015 Lawrence T. Fitzgerald Award in recognition of the best student presentation for his work on A Novel and Practical Convolution-Based Approach to Address the Volume Averaging Effect. His adviser is Guanghua Yan, PhD, and the co-authors on this work were J. Li, S. Lebron, Q. Fan, and C. Liu.  

Shannon O’Reilly (pictured right) was awarded second place for her work on Monte Carlo Dosimetry for IMRT and Proton Therapy.  

Bryan Schwarz (pictured left) was awarded third place for his work on Assessment of depth dependent skeletal S values for beta particle and alpha particle emitters in radionuclide therapy

All three were recognized at the meeting and presented with a cash award. We are proud to have all three winners from the University of Florida!