BME faculty, staff and student receive HWCOE Excellence Awards

Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2018 Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering (HWCOE) Faculty, Student and Staff Excellence Awards:

Dr. Aysegul Gunduz, assistant professor and J. Crayton Pruitt Family Term Fellow, has been named the recipient of the 2018 Pramod P. Khargonekar Junior Faculty Award for Excellence. This recognition is awarded each year at the conclusion of the tenure process to the tenure candidate who best reflects the following leadership attributes exhibited by Dr. Khargonekar, former Dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Florida: excellence in scholarship and teaching, outstanding mentorship of students, impact in her/his research field and exceptional potential for growth.

Dr. Brandi Ormerod, associate professor & Director, BME Graduate Student Diversity & Professional Development, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Leadership. This award recognizes and rewards a faculty member who has best demonstrated extraordinary leadership within their department.

Zac Bielling, associate director, administrative services, received the Staff Award for Excellence in Leadership. The Staff Leadership Excellence Award recognizes and rewards a HWCOE staff members who has best demonstrated extraordinary leadership within their department, the HWCOE, the UF community, and/or the broader profession, and best exemplifies leadership as defined by leadership attributes expected of our Gator Engineering students: visionary; inspiring; a skilled communicator; mission-focused, engaged and committed; caring and fair; thoughtful; collaborative; professional; having a positive attitude; and having sound perspective and strong intuition.

Margaret Pires-Fernandes, BME undergrad student, received the 2018-2019 Attributes of a Gator Engineer Award for Professional Excellence. The Attributes of a Gator Engineer Award is considered the greatest distinction of any student award given by the college; the awards are intended to provide an ideal guide for all members of the Gator Engineering community.


Congratulations to Aysegul, Brandi, Zac and Margaret!